p33APLFJZhFzAVrfTgubwoC94X3euNnkvhRcWJ1k
Check out this 10 New iOS 13 Privacy Settings that must be taken serious

Iklan 728x90

Advertise Here

Check out this 10 New iOS 13 Privacy Settings that must be taken serious



Not surprised getting to know more privacy and security features being added into the latest iOS 13, just as Apple has seemingly always made privacy and security a top priority. 

Apple keeps proclaiming that "privacy is a fundamental human right." And it's definitely true. We have got all this taken care of with the release of iOS 13.

The latest version of iOS comes with lots useful added privacy and security features, including better location tracking, anonymous logins, encrypted notes, restricted microphone and camera permissions, and lots more. We all believe privacy and security should be a number one priority to all iOS users. If privacy and security is a priority to you, you should want to check these great added privacy and security features.


Here are 10 new iOS 13 Privacy settings:

  1. Improved Location Tracking
  2. Decline Bluetooth Access
  3. Sign in with Apple ID
  4. Remove Location Data from Photos & Videos
  5. Silence Unknown Callers
  6. Restrict Permissions for Websites in Safari
  7. Use the New 'Find My' App to Track Your iPhone
  8. Use 'Offline Finding' to Track Your Stolen iPhone
  9. Block Unwanted Emails in the Mail App
  10. Third-Party Apps Can't View Notes in Your Contacts

  • Improved Location Tracking

Lets you keep track of all app granted location in your device.
Apple now notifies you with a popup notification that asks you if you want to continue giving the third-party app access to your location on iOS 13. 
You can go into "Settings," tap on the application you want to restrict access to, and then disable "Location."
Another great location tracking feature on iOS 13 reveals the ability to grant location access to a third-party app only once (which pops up as  "Ask Next Time"). Instead of an app constantly collecting your real-time location, you can grant that app access to it only when you want.


  • Decline Bluetooth Access

Most third-party apps requires permission for Bluetooth not just for pods connection, wristwatch and others but also to keep track of your location. Popup now shows up whether to decline Bluetooth access to certain apps.

  • Sign in with Apple ID

Now a one - click log in to Google, Facebook, and Twitter on third-party apps and websites to let you log in without having to type in your email and password over and over again.

Apple announced "Sign in with Apple"! However the feature is similar to the logins you're used to, Apple does not let the site track or store your user data, instead offers the website a random generated email address. The randomly generated address will instead forward messages to your actual email address.



To access this new Apple service, simply tap on "Sign in with Apple" when prompted. A window will appear, similar to the normal pop up that displays when you download a new app or make a purchase. Now, Decide if you want to use your name, select if you want to share or hide your email, and then press "Continue." The window will then prompt you to use either Face ID or Touch ID to log in. Once you accept any, you'll be logged in and finished.


  • Remove Location Data from Photos & Videos

On iOS 13, you can now actually remove the location details from individual photos and videos you take from your iPhone before sharing them. 
To remove location details, kindly open the image/video you wish to send out and tap on the share icon in the bottom-right of the screen. On the top-left side of the photo, you should see the location of the photo along with "Options." Tap on "Options" and toggle off "Location" to remove the meta details from the photo or video. Now when you send it, the recipient won't be able to scale through your location.

  • Silence Unknown Callers

The new iOS 13 brings an improvement to the silence unknown callers feature. In the Settings app, under "Phone," you'll now see a toggle under Call Silencing and Blocked Contacts titled "Silence Unknown Callers". When enabled, calls from unknown numbers will be silenced and sent to voicemail, but the call will still appear in your Recents list. This simply means that only phone numbers saved in your contacts will be able to call your phone.


  • Restrict Permissions for Websites in Safari

As the options tells, iOS 13 brings many changes and lots new features to Safari, including the ability to edit settings per website.
Now you have the option to accept or deny each website settings like, microphone, camera, location, notification etc. 
Just in case you might have forgotten giving a particular site more permission or by mistake accepting pop up permissions and you wish to retract them back, you can simply make changes to them, by simply going to settings and you can view a complete lists of all allowed permissions. All you need to do is go into "Safari" and scroll down until you see the options for "Camera," "Microphone," and "Location" under the Settings For Websites header. Go into any of the three settings to view which websites have restricted access. You can change the settings for an individual website or all of them from there.


  • Use the New 'Find My' App to Track Your iPhone

Say goodbye to Find My iPhone and Find My Friends. The two app, used to track the location of specific iPhones, are now combined into one, simply called "Find My". Now yoy a fully covered and can keep full track of your lost or stolen iPhone.

How to set up

Open Find My and find the device you want to track from your list of devices. Tap on your device name and a menu will appear, where you can: (1) play a sound from your device, (2) get directions to your device, (3) enable a notification when the device is found, (4) mark the device as lost (which disables Apple Pay, among other things), and (5) erase all the data from your device. As simple as that!


  • Use 'Offline Finding' to Track Your Stolen iPhone

Other than just tracking your lost device, added features on iOS 13, including "Offline Finding," which allows your iPhone to use its Bluetooth signal to report its location using nearby Apple devices. Amazing right?

For Instance, if someone with the stolen iPhone should turn off the cellular data and Wi-Fi, your device could still be tracked. How? If another Apple device like ( iPhone, MacBook, Apple Watch, etc.) gets to come close enough to your stolen iPhone, your device sends your public key to it, which that device then uses to send that encrypted location to Apple's servers. You can then log in to Find My and track your iPhone.
Note: You must have two Apple devices signed into your iCloud for this to work (and have two-factor authentication), reason being that only those devices carry the private key which you need to access your offline location.
While the feature should be enabled by default, you can check by going into the Settings app and tapping on your name at the top.
Next, go into "Find My" and then "Find My iPhone." In the middle, you'll see a setting called "Enable Offline Finding." If disabled, toggle it on and you are all set.


  • Block Unwanted Emails in the Mail App

First of its kind ever, surprisingly the Mail app has never had the ability to block contacts ... until now. If you constantly get lots of unwanted or unknown emails, you can now simply block a specific sender and their emails. There are lots of ways for this to be done, but here is the simplest method, simply open an email in the Mail app, tap on the sender (at the top) email twice, then hit "Block this Contact" twice when it appears.
You also get three options for those blocked mails which are (1) nothing, (2) mark as blocked but leave in inbox, and (3) move to trash.


  • Third-Party Apps Can't View Notes in Your Contacts

Although this can't be turned on or off, it's good to know that third-party apps that usually have access to your contacts can no longer view what it says in the Notes fields of your saved contacts. Moreover apps must seek for your permission before they can have access to your contacts or see everything ... but not anymore. On iOS 13, these notes are now encrypted (protected).

Don't forget to subcribe to our newsletter for more exclusive update.

Also Read
SHARE
Nnoka Godswill
I am Nnoka Godswill, an Electronics and Computer Engineering student. I love writing about tech and phone reviews. Contact me if you like what I do and you want me as an author on your blog [email protected] Gracia❤️

Related Posts

Subscribe to DROIDVILLA TECH newsletter to get updates from us as we publish

1 comment

Post a Comment

We love ♥ comments, your comment is important to us

Iklan Tengah Post

Advertise Here

Contact Form

Name

Email *

Message *